8 Feb

rpdpod

4417

The point I started out to make when I wrote in the last post about meandering from writing to photography, before I meandered off the point, was that in keeping a log of one’s travel experiences, one can imagine writing from the collective point of view of one’s readers. What would you have seen if you’d been here? You feel yourself transparent to the experience: you see it, you say it. You are a lens through which your friends see, but you try to make yourself super wide angle, unfiltered, and  deep focused. You want to be everywhere, seeing everything, passing it all on.

When I began looking through an actual lens myself, I was always chafing against the narrowness of view and the requirement that you choose one thing or another for the focal point. The picture could be about only one thing. It bugged me a lot that…

View original post 140 more words

Leave a Reply

